Ramanujam R

Areas of Interest & Expertise

  • Decidability Theory
  • Automata Theory
  • Modal, Temporal and Epistemic Logics
  • Theory of Distributed Systems
  • Security Theory
  • Game Theory


Ramanujam obtained his PhD from Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai. He was a postdoctoral fellow at City University of New York (CUNY), USA, and then joined The Institute of Mathematical Sciences (IMSc), Chennai where he was a faculty member for more than three decades until he superannuated in July 2021. He is currently a visiting faculty member at the School of Arts and Sciences, Azim Premji University.

His doctoral work in the 1980s was in the area of logic programming. Along with Rohit Parikh (CUNY), he was among the early researchers to study epistemic logic to reason about distributed systems. 

In the 1990s, he contributed to developing partial order models of concurrency and local temporal and epistemic logics over them. Since 2000, he has worked on the verification of cryptographic protocols, automata theory and logical foundations of game theory, definability in first-order theories of graph orderings, and decidable fragments of first-order modal logic.

Ramanujam has been on the Editorial board of ACM Transactions on Computational Logic since 2010. He is currently the Chief Editor of the ACM Minigraphs series. In 2010, he was selected as Lorentz Fellow of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences (KNAW) at the National Institute of Advanced Studies, the Netherlands. 

Ramanujam has been associated with Tamil Nadu Science Forum (TNSF), a voluntary group of science communicators, and is the Editor of Thulir, a monthly children’s science magazine in Tamil. 

He was a member of the Steering Committee of the National Curriculum Framework 2005 (NCF 2005), and chaired the National Focus Group for Teaching Mathematics. He is currently President of the Mathematics Teachers’ Association, India. He is a member of the committee set up by Government of Tamil Nadu to formulate the state’s education policy.

In 2020, he was awarded the Indira Gandhi Prize for science popularisation by Indian National Science Academy (INSA).


Recent publications

Journal Articles

Conference Papers