Physics Teachers Training Programme-2024

A week-long residential programme for physics teachers at the undergraduate level | Apply by 28 May 2024

PTTE 2024

Physics teachers, especially those from resource-limited colleges, face several unique challenges, including less than satisfactory admissions and retention of students in physics courses, a gradual decline in motivation levels in students (and teachers) during an academic year, a lack of basic infrastructure such as laboratory facilities, a mismatch between UGC recommendations and the ground situation, among others.

Thus, there is a need for innovative teaching methods, especially those that make experiments, demonstrations, and simulations central to the process.

To address this, Azim Premji University, in association with Physics Training and Talent Search (PTTS), is conducting a five-day residential workshop for Physics teachers at the undergraduate level to enhance their capacity.

This is the second such workshop and the topics covered will include Waves and Optics

The workshop will include:

  • interactive classroom sessions
  • sessions on project-based learning
  • developing physics simulations, and
  • building hands-on experiments

Motivated undergraduate teachers from all over India. Preference will be given to candidates from Karnataka and to women teachers. The number of participants will be capped at 30.

Participants will be provided accommodation and food on campus. 
Travel grants are available.
The amount reimbursed to the participant will be the lower of either the travel receipt amount or INR 4000 (per person).

Candidates selected for the workshop will need to pay INR 300 as the registration fee. The payment link will be shared with the selected candidates. The last date for the payment is 5 PM on 17 June 2024.

Last date for applications: 28 May 2024

Selected candidates will be informed through email by 5 June 2024.

For further details, contact pttp.​2023@​apu.​edu.​in


From PTTS:

From Azim Premji University:

How to reach Azim Premji University, Bengaluru